Huang Rui’s I-Ching
I-Ching is a set of divination systems created in the Zhou Dynasty. The yin and yang symbolize the basic form of the universe, while the eight trigrams represent eight basic phenomena of the natural world. The sixty-four hexagrams represent the relationships between human life and the environment.
I-Ching is one of the most important series of Huang Rui’s artistic career. Huang Rui began exploring I-Ching (The Book of Changes) in the early 1980s, and he has since interpreted the divinatory symbols in I-Ching in a variety of visual forms. During the interactive performance art piece I-Ching, Huang Rui will perform for 64 minutes, then for the next 64 minutes invite 64 volunteers to participate. All of the volunteers will be asked to wear black, white, or black and white clothing and accessories. After the interactive portion of the work is complete, each volunteer will receive one of sixty-four I-Ching umbrellas.

At Guangzhou Live - International Action Art Festival
November 30, 2011
Huang Rui performed on the opening day of the festival to a large crowd of students, artists, and visitors.

In Hong Kong
May 26, 2011
The first performance I-Ching Project began at the Star Ferry Pier in Central, continued throughout the ferry journey across the harbor to Tsim Sha Tsui and ended at the ART HK 11 fair at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre in Wanchai. The second performance I-Ching Together took place at the entrance of ART HK 11.